Formed as a non political, not for profit organisation in 1980, the Yorkshire Society encourages businesses, charities and individual people from or living in all parts of Yorkshire to join together in "promoting the county". Membership of the Society is open to individuals and businesses alike to enable everybody to work towards and achieve common goals throughout the county.

Not only do we work with established organisations, in their efforts to generate and promote tourism in the county, but we also encourage and assist local branches of the society to fund and carry through projects in their own area. This wide ranging remit includes improving the beauty, attraction and amenities in the variety of villages, towns, historic houses, monuments and not least the countryside throughout Yorkshire.Yorkshire Society

  • Improving the beauty, attraction and amenities within the county.
  • Working for the Yorkshire countryside, towns, villages, historic houses, and monuments of all kinds.
  • Generating and promoting tourism together with inward investment.
Patron: HRH The Duke of York KG KCVO ADC

President: The Lord St Oswald DL

Vice Presidents:
Ashley Jackson
Barbara Taylor Bradford 
Christine Talbot
Dr. Linda Pollard CBE JP DL
Elizabeth Peacock JP DL
Harry Gration MBE
Kay Mellor OBE
Lord Patel of Bradford OBE
Major General Henry Woods CB MBE MC DL
Most Revd. & Rt. Hon. Dr. John Sentamu
Sir Bernard Ingham
Sir Colin Sampson CBE QPM DL
Sir David Hugh Wootton
Sir Norman Bettison QPM
Sir Rodney Walker Kt.
Sir William O’Brien
The Rt. Hon. Baroness Boothroyd OM PC
The Rt. Hon. Lord John Prescott
The Rt. Hon. The Earl of Halifax K.St.J. JP DL
The Rt. Revd. & Rt. Hon. Lord Hope of Thornes KCVO
The Rt. Revd. Nick Baines Bishop of Leeds
The Rt. Revd. Peter Burrows Bishop of Doncaster

Chairman: Canon Keith Madeley MBE
Treasurer: Andy Chaffer
Event Organiser: Linda Atkins
Corporate Members Login
Forgotten Password  / Login
Proudly supported by